Research Projects

The team studies the innate immune system in physiological and pathological situations (cancer, chronic inflammatory diseases, acute and chronic infections).
Thanks to the clinicians integrated in the team, the projects are structured around a fundamental approach and a strong translational approach thanks to the collaborations set up with clinical services (CHU Angers, Institut de Cancérologie de l’Ouest Centre Paul Papin).

Historically, the team was interested in the biology of human macrophages and soluble receptors of innate immunity. More recently, in connection with the CRCI2NA thematic thread which aims at deciphering the tumor ecosystem, we have initiated projects addressing the links between tumor diversity and immune environment (dynamics of macrophage polarization).

The 3 research axes

1. Biology of human macrophages
Macrophages are cells of myeloid origin present in all tissues of the body. True sentinels of the innate immune system, macrophages participate in many physiological mechanisms, such as antimicrobial defense, tissue repair and initiation/regulation of adaptive immune responses. A remarkable property of these cells is their functional plasticity, i.e. their ability to adapt their phenotype and functions to the nature of locally encountered signals.

Our work aims at :
– Identify the mechanisms of generation and characterize the functions of tumor-associated macrophages,
– Clarify the role of metabolists and immunometabolism in the functional polarization of macrophages

Our team has demonstrated the role of cytokines M-CSF and IL-34 and lactic acidosis in the generation of TAM-like macrophages in ovarian cancer.

Current projects aim to clarify (i) the diversity of TAMs in solid tumors (ovarian, lung) and hematological malignancies, (ii) the mechanisms of macrophage survival under stressful conditions and (iii) the epigenetic mechanisms involved in macrophage polarization.
Link to the website https://www.macrophage.fr

2. Biology of soluble receptors of innate immunity
The soluble receptors of innate immunity (Pattern Recognition Molecules or PRM) were initially described as opsonins involved in the elimination of microbes and dead cells. Various studies have shown that they are also involved in the regulation of adaptive immune responses.
Although they are central actors of the innate immune system, the biology of MRPs remains poorly understood.

Our work aims to clarify the biology of :
– The clusterin molecule, initially described as an extracellular chaperone molecule and thought to be involved in the handling of extracellular hazard molecules,
– The cytokine IL-26 which behaves as a PRM modulating the inflammatory properties of nucleic acids.

Our team has demonstrated that IL-26 binds to nucleic acids and regulates their immunoregulatory properties.

3. Macrophages and myeloproliferative syndrome
Myeloproliferative neoplasms (MPN) are acquired clonal disorders characterized by an accumulation of mature blood cells. Their prognosis is linked to two major complications: short/medium term thrombosis and long term hematological changes. Among the hematological changes, progression to secondary acute myeloid leukemia is associated with a poor prognosis. The bone marrow microenvironment plays a key role in the pathogenicity of SMP by increasing molecular instability and promoting fibrosis and studies have shown that the myeloid compartment is altered (inflammatory phenotype).
Based on the cross expertise of TAM biology and molecular characterization of SMP, the objective of this emerging project is to identify TAM subtypes in SMP and to associate their phenotype with tumor cell diversity.

Organization of the team
The team is composed of scientists, biologists and clinicians from different fields of competence (immunology, hematology, nephrology) and expertise (cell biology, genomics/transcriptomics, …). The participation of biologists and clinicians in the team’s projects as well as the collaborations established with many clinical services of the CHU of Angers allows us to combine cognitive and translational research in each of our research projects.
The team has also established numerous collaborations with biology (Virology, Biochemistry) and clinical services of the CHU of Angers (Hepatology, MIR, gynecology) and of the Institut de Cancérologie de l’Ouest (Paul Papin site).
In order to structure our various local collaborations with clinical and biological services, the team has set up a 3I-Impact working group which aims at optimizing collaborations and integrating new skills to improve the quality of translational research in immunopathology.

The team is integrated in the LabEx IGO (www.crcina.org), the SIRIC ILIAD (www.siric-iliad.com) and the FHU GOAL (https://sites.google.com/site/fhugoal).

The team is integrated in the Cancéropole Grand-Ouest (www.canceropole-grandouest.com) and is a member of the Centre de Référence Déficits Immunitaires Héréditaires (www.ceredih.fr).

The translational research activities are carried out within the framework of the Structuring Project 3I-Impact supported by the University Hospital of Angers and the University of Angers; this project aims at reinforcing the emergence and the structuring of research projects between university teams and health care structures in the field of alterations of the immune system in severe pathologies (cancer, sepsis, chronic inflammatory diseases)

In the short term, link to the 3I-Impact website

The team is integrated in the SFR ICAT and has access to all the technical and technological platforms.
The team also has a privileged access to the molecular biology platforms of the Hematology laboratory of the CHU of Angers (Pr. V Ugo) and of the functional genomics unit of the ICO (Pr A Morel and Dr I Tournier).

The team welcomes trainees (bachelor’s degree, master’s degree) from the science and health fields (Medicine and Pharmacy).

Staff

Yves Delneste, DR INSERM
Pascale Jeannin, PU-PH

Isabelle Tournier, CR
Dominique Couez, PU
Alain Morel, PU
Sandrine Nail-Billaud, MCU
Marie-Christine Copin, PU-PH
Jean-François Subra, PU-PH
Isabelle Pellier, PU-PH
Valérie Ugo, MCU-PH
Aline Schmidt-Tanguy, MCU-PH
Jean-François Augusto, MCU-PH
Céline Beauvillain, MCU-PH
Odile Blanchet, MCU-PH
Mathilde Hunault-Berger, PU-PH
Damien Luque Paz, MCU-PH
Charline Miot, MCU-PH
Emeline Vinatier, AHU
Sandrine Lemoine, AHU
Marie Febvre-James, ATER
Caroline Poli, PH
Anne Bouvier, PH
Laurane Cottin, PH
Louise-Marie Chevalier, PH
Corentin Orvain, PH
Najia Jeroundi, CR
Chloé Délépine, PhD Student
Elena Menand, PhD Student
Marine Monnier, PhD Student
Benoît Brilland, PhD Student
Sylvain Thépot, PhD Student
Coralie Mallebranche, PhD Student
Maxime Corre, PhD Student
Benoît Buchs, PhD Student
Pascale Pignon, AI
Laurence Preisser, IE
Simon Blanchard, ING
Raffaella Soleti, IR
Louisa Vergori, IR
Nathalie Merillon, IE

Main Publications

Projets de recherche

L’équipe étudie le système immunitaire inné en situation physiologique et pathologique (cancer, maladies inflammatoires chroniques, infections aigues et chroniques).
Grace aux cliniciens intégrés dans l’équipe, les projets sont structurés autour d’une approche fondamentale et d’une approche translationnelle forte grâce aux collaborations mises en place avec des services cliniques (CHU Angers, Institut de Cancérologie de l’Ouest Centre Paul Papin).

Historiquement, l’équipe s’est intéressée à la biologie des macrophages humains et des récepteurs solubles de l’immunité innée. Plus récemment, en lien avec le fil thématique du CRCI2NA qui vise à décrypter l’écosystème tumoral, nous nous initié des projets abordant les liens entre diversité tumorale et environnement immunitaire (dynamique de la polarisation des macrophages).

Les 3 axes de recherche

1. Biologie des macrophages humains
Les macrophages sont des cellules d’origine myéloïde présents dans tous les tissus de l’organisme. Véritables sentinelles du système immunitaire inné, les macrophages participent à de nombreux mécanismes physiologiques, tels que la défense antimicrobienne, la réparation tissulaire et l’initiation/régulation des réponses immunitaires adaptatives. Une propriété remarquable de ces cellules est leur plasticité fonctionnelle, c’est-à-dire leur capacité à adapter leur phénotype et leurs fonctions à la nature des signaux rencontrés localement.

Nos travaux visent à :
– Identifier les mécanismes de génération et caractériser les fonctions des macrophages associés aux tumeurs,
– Préciser le rôle des métabolistes et de l’immunométabolisme dans la polarisation fonctionnelle des macrophages

Notre équipe a ainsi démontré le rôle des cytokines M-CSF et IL-34 et de l’acidose lactique dans la génération de macrophages similaires aux TAM présents dans le cancer de l’ovaire.

Les projets en cours visent à préciser (i) la diversité des TAM dans les tumeurs solides (ovaire, poumon) et les hémopathies malignes, (ii) les mécanismes de survie des macrophages dans des conditions de stress et (iii) préciser les mécanismes épigénétiques impliqués dans la polarisation des macrophages
Lien vers le site https://www.macrophage.fr

2. Biologie des récepteurs solubles de l’immunité innée
Les récepteurs solubles de l’immunité innée (Pattern Recognition Molecules ou PRM) ont initialement été décrits comme des opsonines impliquées dans l’élimination des microbes et des cellules mortes. Différentes études ont démontré qu’ils sont également impliqués dans la régulation des réponses immunitaires adaptatives.
Bien qu’ils soient des acteurs centraux du système immunitaire inné, la biologie des PRM reste mal connue.

Nos travaux visent à préciser la biologie de :
– La molécule clusterine, initialement décrite comme une molécule chaperon extracellulaire et qui serait impliquée dans la prise en charge des molécules de danger extracellulaires,
– La cytokine IL-26 qui se comporte comme un PRM modulant les propriétés inflammatoires des acides nucléiques.

Notre équipe a ainsi démontré que l’IL-26 se fixe aux acides nucléiques et régule leurs propriétés immunorégulatrices.

3. Macrophages et syndrome myéloprolifératif
Les néoplasmes myéloprolifératifs (NMP) sont des troubles clonaux acquis caractérisés par une accumulation de cellules sanguines matures. Leur pronostic est lié à deux complications majeures : la thrombose à court/moyen terme et les transformations hématologiques à long terme. Parmi les transformations hématologiques, l’évolution vers une leucémie myéloïde aiguë secondaire est associée à un mauvais pronostic. Le microenvironnement de la moelle osseuse joue un rôle clé dans la pathogénicité du SMP en augmentant l’instabilité moléculaire et en favorisant la fibrose et des études ont montré que le compartiment myéloïde est altéré (phénotype inflammatoire).
Basé sur l’expertise croisée de la biologie des TAM et de la caractérisation moléculaire des SMP, l’objectif de ce projet émergent est d’identifier les sous-types de TAM dans les SMP d’associer leur phénotype à la diversité des cellules tumorales.

Organisation de l’équipe
L’équipe est composée de scientifiques, de biologistes et de cliniciens de différents domaines de compétences (immunologie, hématologie, néphrologie) et d’expertises (biologie cellulaire, génomique/transcriptomique, …). La participation de biologistes et de cliniciens aux projets de l’équipe ainsi que les collaborations établies avec de nombreux services cliniques du CHU d’Angers nous permet de combiner recherche cognitive et recherche translationnelle dans chacun de nos projets de recherche.
L’équipe a également établi de nombreuses collaborations avec des services de biologie (Virologie, Biochimie) et cliniques du CHU d’Angers (Hépatologie, MIR, gynécologie) et de l’Institut de Cancérologie de l’Ouest (site Paul Papin).
Afin de structurer nos différentes collaborations locales avec les services cliniques et de biologie , l’équipe a mis en place un groupe de travail 3I-Impact qui vise à optimiser les collaborations et intégrer de nouvelles compétences pour améliorer la qualité de la recherche translationnelle en immunopathologie.

L’équipe est intégrée au sein du LabEx IGO (www.crcina.org), du SIRIC ILIAD (www.siric-iliad.com) et du FHU GOAL (https://sites.google.com/site/fhugoal).

L’équipe est intégrée au Cancéropole Grand-Ouest (www.canceropole-grandouest.com) et membre du Centre de Référence Déficits Immunitaires Héréditaires (www.ceredih.fr).

Les activités de recherche translationnelle sont réalisées dans le cadre du Projet Structurant 3I-Impact soutenu par le CHU d’Angers et l’Université d’Angers ; ce projet vise à renforcer l’émergence et la structuration de projets de recherche entre les équipes universitaires et les structures de soin dans le domaine des altérations du système immunitaire dans des pathologies sévères (cancer, sepsis, maladies inflammatoires chroniques).

 A court terme, lien vers le site internet de 3I-Impact

L’équipe est intégrée à la SFR ICAT et a donc accès à tous les plateaux techniques et technologiques.
L’équipe a également un accès privilégié aux plateaux de biologie moléculaire du laboratoire d’Hématologie du CHU d’Angers (Pr. V Ugo) et de l’unité de génomique fonctionnelle de l’ICO (Pr A Morel et Dr I Tournier).

L’équipe accueille des stagiaires (licence, master) des filières sciences et santé (Médecine et Pharmacie).

Personnes

Yves Delneste, DR INSERM
Pascale Jeannin, PU-PH

Isabelle Tournier, CR
Dominique Couez, PU
Alain Morel, PU
Sandrine Nail-Billaud, MCU
Marie-Christine Copin, PU-PH
Jean-François Subra, PU-PH
Isabelle Pellier, PU-PH
Valérie Ugo, PU-PH
Aline Schmidt-Tanguy, PU-PH
Jean-François Augusto, PU-PH
Céline Beauvillain, MCU-PH
Odile Blanchet, MCU-PH
Mathilde Hunault-Berger, PU-PH
Damien Luque Paz, MCU-PH
Charline Miot, MCU-PH
Emeline Vinatier, PH
Sandrine Lemoine, AHU
Marie Febvre-James, ATER
Caroline Poli, PH
Anne Bouvier, PH
Laurane Cottin, PH
Louise-Marie Chevalier, PH
Corentin Orvain, PH
Najia Jeroundi, Post-Doc
Chloé Delépine, Doctorante
Elena Menand, Doctorante
Marine Monnier, Doctorante
Benoît Brilland, Doctorant
Sylvain Thépot, Doctorant
Coralie Mallebranche, Doctorante
Maxime Corre, Doctorant
Benoît Buchs, Doctorant
Pascale Pignon, AI
Laurence Preisser, IE
Simon Blanchard, ING
Raffaella Soleti, IR
Luisa Vergori, IR
Nathalie Merillon, IE

Publications principales

  • Yves Delneste
  • Centre de Recherche en Cancérologie et Immunologie Intégrée Nantes-Angers
  • Institut de Recherche et d’Ingénierie de la Santé - 4 Rue Larrey 49100 Angers
  • 02 44 68 83 00
  • yves.delneste@univ-angers.fr